The Chester - Hadlyme Ferry, which began service in 1769, was orginally operated by Jonathan Warner who owned the land on both sides of the Connecticut River. Warner's Ferry, as it was called back then, connected King's Highway in Fort Hill, Parish of Chester to Norwich Road in Lyme. The ferry was often used throughout the Revolutionary War to transport needed supplies across the river. The Original ferry was pushed across the river using long poles. A steam-powered barge began to serve the ferry crossing in 1879. The ferry was named the Chester-Hadlyme Ferry in 1882 while it was operated by the Town of Chester. In 1917, the ferry was turned over to Connecticut Department of Transportation. The present ferry, the Selden III,was built in 1949. It is an open, self-propelled craft, 65 feet long and 30 feet wide. The vessel can accommodate 8 to 9 cars and 49 passengers. The Selden III provides a convenient, direct link between Chester and Hadlyme at Route 148.
Be the first to add a review to the Chester Hadlyme Ferry.
Chester Hadlyme Ferry
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.