“nineteenth century salt-water farm”
Pettengill Farm, a nineteenth century salt-water farm on the estuary of the Harraseeket River, is owned by Freeport Historical Society(FHS).It includes a saltbox house (ca. 1810) on 140 acres of fields, woods, antique apple orchards and salt marsh. Most interesting are the etchings (sgraffitti) found on the plaster walls in the upper chambers of ships, sea monsters, longboats and animals. The farmhouse remains without plumbing, central heat and electricity and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Mildred Pettengill was its last resident and lived in the house until 1970. She loved the natural world, transplanting wild roses, lilacs, cedar trees, and other plants from area fields, shores, and islands into the gardens and grounds about the house. Some are native American species and were among the flowers colonists found on arrival. From an undated letter by Miss Pettengill.
Be the first to add a review to the Pettengill Farm.
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.