This mission founded in 1797 by Fermin Lasuen as the 14th mission. It is the only mission in the [[East Bay]] region, and its land grant once encompassed most of the East Bay. The original 1809 adobe church (which served as a saloon and general store during secularization) was destroyed by an 1868 earthquake along the Hayward fault. The current mission building underwent a four-year reconstruction project to produce a modern replica of the 1809 adobe church with 4-5ft steel-reinforced walls and was dedicated in 1985 for daily Mass and tours. The only surviving building from the Spanish period is a monastery, which serves as a small museum of seven rooms that houses a collection of artifacts, vestments, and memorabilia. The small cemetery holds the graves of many prominent Spanish and American settlers, whose prominence allowed the gilding of the mission's altar.
Be the first to add a review to the Mission San Jose.
Mission San Jose
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.