“A working museum still using water from Greenville Creek”
Built in 1849 by Gabriel Baer, Bear's Mill is one of the few operating water-powered mills in Ohio today. The site of the present mill, as well as the water rights, were granted to Major George Adams through a Presidential Deed by President James Monroe in 1824. Placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977, Bear's Mill is a working museum; still utilizing the water from the Greenville Creek to power the equipment for stone-grinding flour and meal. Not only is the Mill significant but the land and water around it is important, too. Because of the abundance of wildlife and the uniqueness of its ecosystem, the Mill property is considered a wildlife sanctuary. Huge trees line the banks of the Greenville Creek and the mill race. The forest floor is carpeted with wildflowers in the spring and summer. Wild plants and wild animals are attracted to the flowing waters. Visitors are encouraged to tour the mill and the beautiful natural area surrounding it, as well as shop the Mill Market Store where flour, homemade breads and sweets, along with gourmet kitchen accessories can be found. Art exhibits that rotate every month in the gallery at the Mill offer visitors the opportunity to see and shop regional art including paintings, photography, pottery, blown glass, jewelry, and sculpture. It is said to be haunted by a former owner, whose ghost can be heard walking on the creaking floorboards upstairs when no one is there.
Wonderful little place to stop in for a short visit- 4 stories of history, gift shop, and walking trails along the water! The mill still operates and you can buy the flour right there! Super informative self-guided tour leads from the 4th story down.
Be the first to add a review to the Bear's Mill.
- Sun - Sat: 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.