Like Sabbathday Lake, Alfred was established around 1793. Famously, Alfred is where, according to Shaker tradition, Brother Joseph Brackett composed the song "Simple Gifts." The village was closed in 1931, when the remaining Shakers moved to Sabbathday Lake. Currently, only one remaining building is open to the public as a museum: A restored 1875 carriage house, which now serves as an educational center about the Shakers and the Alfred Village.
Be the first to add a review to the Friends Of Alfred Shaker Museum.
Friends Of Alfred Shaker Museum
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.