“Famous Memphis dining since 1921”
Jim’s Place is a Memphis dining tradition that began in 1921 when Nick Taras, along with Jim Katsoudes, opened the restaurant’s first location in the basement of the William Len Hotel in downtown Memphis. In the mid-1930s, Nick and his brothers Bill and George opened a second location on Union Avenue across from the Peabody Hotel. Jim’s remained a downtown Memphis dining landmark for many years, moving once again to South Second Street in 1967 when Bill’s sons, Costa and Dimitri, joined him in the business. For many years, Bill’s wife Bessie dreamed of converting the family’s summer home in east Memphis into a restaurant. That dream became a reality in 1976 when Jim’s Place East opened, delighting a new generation of Memphis diners for nearly 35 years. In 2006, Jim’s Place expanded further east to Collierville when Dimitri opened Jim’s Place Grille with his two sons, James and Sam. Today, Costa and his son Bill continue the tradition with the opening of Jim’s Place Restaurant & Bar in the heart of East Memphis at Poplar and Perkins. The locations may have changed over the years but the family’s commitment to the best in food and service remains the same.
Be the first to add a review to the Jim's Place Restaurant & Bar.
Jim's Place Restaurant & Bar
- Mon - Fri: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
- Sat: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted