“more than 100 varieties of Rose”
The home occupied by Antique Rose Ville's restaurant and tea room is known as the Renoudet Cottage, named for its 20th century owners. As one of Iberia Parish's oldest homes, the first recorded date of its existence is 1840 when it was owned by a Picard family. It was later occupied by William Weeks II (son of David Weeks, builder of shadows on the Teche) and it was used at other times to house the overseers of the Weeks family's plantations. The Renoudet Cottage was moved in December of 1995 from it's original site on St. Peter Street to its present location on Freyou Road. There proprietor Linda D. Freyou and her husband, Simon, meticulously restored the home as closely as possible to its original condition. The Renoudet Cottage is the second home restored by the Freyous. Their present home, Anastasia, was built in 1904. It sits alongside Antique Rose Ville and was moved to Freyou Road after being transported 50 miles by barge down the Intracoastal Canal from Berwick, Louisiana. Like her passion for antique roses, Linda's love of old homes traces back to her paternal grandparent's home, which was built in 1789 and is still at its original location in Lafayette, Louisiana.
Be the first to add a review to the Antique Rose Ville.
Antique Rose Ville
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.