“where recipes are born, not copied”
Angelo’s father, George Petrandis, constructed the original building in 1945. He built the structure of salvaged lumber and nails acquired from the closing of Camp Gordon Johnson at St. Teresa Beach. The pilings for the foundation were purchased for one dollar each. For the first few years of operation generators also bought from the Army camp provided the only electricity. Later, Mr. Petrandis bought the poles that would run power from the entrance of Panacea to the bridge finally bringing electricity to the area. The George’s Café & Bar was cleverly positioned over the waters of Ochlockonee Bay in order to be located in a “wet” county; Leon and Wakulla were dry at the time. It was this novel placement that permitted the establishment to sell alcohol and is the reason that George’s quickly became a favorite watering hole for the residents of Tallahassee and South Georgia. But it was the food more than the bar that began to draw crowds.
Yum! The jumbo grilled shrimp (surf and turf) were delicious. Beautiful scenery to enjoy a delicious meal. Moderately priced with a good variety of delicious food for the non seafood eating kids as well! We didn't leave hungry and had plenty of food to take home.
Be the first to add a review to the Angelo & Son's Seafood Restaurant.
Angelo & Son's Seafood Restaurant
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted