The Barn or the building where the Barn presently resides at 9527 Harford Rd. was first built in the mid 1850’s. The original name of the building was “Walter’s Carney Hotel”. It was used as a rest stop for farmers on their way to the Broadway Market in East Baltimore. In the early 1900’s it was renamed as Groller’s grocery store. It was also known as the “8 mile house” as it was 8 miles from the market. In the 1930’s and 1940’s the building was a dance hall and saloon known as Brownies. Brownies became the Bottle and Cap and remained until it was purchased in 1979 and renamed “The Barn”. The Barn opened it’s doors March 3, 1980, the Crabhouse June 15, 1982 and except for a year or two since has retained the name. It quickly became a Baltimore institution known by almost everyone in Baltimore born in the 1950’s, 1960’s and 1970’s.The Barn as it is now re-opened, April 10, 2013. It has been completely remodeled from top to bottom. The upstairs has been named “The Barn Taphouse”. Twenty four craft beers are offered on tap and a menu that any restaurant would be proud of. “The Barn Crabhouse” will open on or about May 1, 2013 and will retain much of it's original charm. . Specials are in the works and it is hoped that the next generations will enjoy “The Barn” as past generations have done for years.
Be the first to add a review to the The Barn Taphouse and Crabhouse.
The Barn Taphouse and Crabhouse
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.