“also known as The Brick Church on Well's Hill”
The Brick Church on Well's Hill, now known as Old Blandford Church of Bristol Parish, is located in Petersburg, Virginia adjacent to Blandford Cemetery. It was erected in 1735. The church building was abandoned in 1806 after the building of another Episcopal church in Petersburg, when the Town of Blandford had been absorbed by Petersburg. Necessary repairs for its preservation were made by the City of Petersburg in 1882. As part of the restoration project, the Ladies' Memorial Association solicited funds from each former Confederate state for the creation and installation of a stained glass window in memory of the Confederate soldiers from that state. Louis Comfort Tiffany's studio was commissioned to design the fifteen memorial compass windows. Each of the large windows contains the image of a Saint and symbols associated with the Saint. The four smaller windows were designed to complement the larger ones.
Be the first to add a review to the Old Blandford Church.
Old Blandford Church
- Sun: 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
- Thu - Sat: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.