“Built in 1852 & still standing strong!”
The Fountain & Tallman Museum is owned and operated by the El Dorado County Historical Society. Built in 1852, it is the oldest building on Main Street and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The museum is located at 524 Main Street, east of Bedford Ave. The building was erected in 1852-1853 and soon afterwards it was the site of John Fountain & Benjamin Tallman's Soda Works.The museum building style is called rock rubble construction and is a prime example of the first permanent buildings that transitioned Placerville from a mining camp into a town. The walls are two feet thick and the window and door openings had exterior iron shutters to protect the building from fires.
Be the first to add a review to the Fountain-Tallman Museum.
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.