“Charming seafood restaurant est. 1963.”
Charming seafood restaurant. Est. 1963. The land where the existing Ray's Millpond dam is located was purchased by Thomas Marcus Ray from Levi J. Knight in 1866. Mr. Ray, in partnership with Mr. Knight, built the dam on Beaver Dam Creek in 1867 and set up a mill to grind grain. It was called "Knight and Ray's Mill" until the death of Mr. Knight in 1870. After his death, Mr. Ray became the sole owner of the mill, dam, and land and all water-flow rights. A post office was established at Ray's Mill but when the Georgia and Florida Railroad was constructed in 1900 one mile east, Ray's Mill the post office and the town moved to the railroad track. On August 16, 1909 the community was incorporated as the city of Ray's Mill. In 1915, the name was changed to Bay City. The pond was drained in 1947 and about that same time the grist mill was shut down. In 1979, the old mill was torn down due to its unsafe condition. A small restaurant was constructed in the late 50's. On October 23, 1963 the restaurant was acquired by Chester Campbell and given to his mother Ann Campbell. Ann Campbell and her son Lamar Booth operated the restaurant until September 1, 1979 at which time she retired. On September 1, 1979 Lamar Booth and his two sons (Dan and Larry) and their wives took over the operation of the restaurant.
Be the first to add a review to the Ray's Millpond Cafe.
Ray's Millpond Cafe
- Thu - Sat: 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.