“classic rustic bar from the 1940s”
In 1907, the Mint Bar (then called the Mint Saloon) opened for business in the heart of downtown Sheridan. Negotiations for the purchase of the Mint Bar property actually began all the way back in 1894 with a down payment of only $500. At that time, ice was delivered in horse-drawn wagons to the bar's ice box and bartenders wore long white aprons, serving drinks across a mahogany bar. Unfortunately, the scene was short-lived with the enactment of Prohibition in 1919. The bar was operated as the Mint Cigar Company and Soda Shop, but a "speakeasy" was quietly run in the bar's back room for those who disagreed with Congress' latest amendment. The Mint was completely redecorated in the late 40's in the rustic style seen today. Knotty pine paneling and gnarled pine burls make up the back bar. the cedar shingle brands adorning the walls of the Mint are the work of L.L. "Mac" McVean, who with partner Wayne Elkins, owned the bar from 1943-1974. Mac took a soldering iron, an electric needle, and a brand book one day and started to work; as a result, the walls of the Mint are an encyclopedia of over 9000 slabs of local brands. the booths are also cedar. Much of the wild game in the bar was a result of Mac and local entrepreneur Sam Mavrakis' trip to the Yukon in the 50's. The two Dall Sheep, along with the black Timber Wolf, Wolverine, and two Caribou all came from one 18 day hunting trip. The remainder, including the deer, antelope and elk, came from this area. Since the late 1990's The Mint Bar has been owned by Double Buck Inc.
Be the first to add a review to the Mint Bar.
- Mon - Sat: 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted