“history meets enchantment”
The Crooked River Lighthouse was built in 1895, replacing the three short-lived beacons destroyed by hurricanes on Dog Island. The 103 foot iron and steel structure was decommissioned by the Coast Guard in 1995 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Carrabelle Lighthouse Association (CLA) and the City of Carrabelle obtained ownership of the landmark just weeks before being auctioned, and created a public park surrounding it. Via grants from the Florida State Legislature and financial support from the City of Carrabelle restoration of the structure was completed by 2007. Nestled in a North Florida forest habitat, the lighthouse beams nightly, with an acrylic replica of its original 4th order Fresnel lens.
Yes, it is a bit crooked! :)
Great stop for a picnic and to let the kids out to play!
Be the first to add a review to the Crooked River Lighthouse.
Crooked River Lighthouse
- Sun, Thu - Sat: 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.