“Once called the Grand Encampment”
Once called Grand Encampment by French-Canadian trappers who rendezvoused along the Encampment River, this small town has a rich history. In 1897, copper was discovered in the Sierra Madre Mountains just above this quiet settlement, and soon hundreds flocked to the area to get their share of the mined riches. A smelter was built along the river, and an incredible (for its time) tramway was built. This tram ran for sixteen miles from the mining site in the mountains down to the smelter. The tram could carry almost a thousand tons of ore a day! Part of this tram is now on display at the Encampment Museum, which is a must see when visiting here. Other wonderful displays (including the infamous two-story outhouse!) are set up there, and volunteers offer tourists a wealth of information on the area’s history.
Be the first to add a review to the Two-Story Outhouse / Grand Encampment Museum.
Two-Story Outhouse / Grand Encampment Museum
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.