“standing 300 yards off the shore”
Morris Island Lighthouse stands alone approximately 300 yards off shore from the island of Folly Beach. The lighthouse can be viewed from the northeast end of Folly Island and from the bridge coming on to Folly Beach. The Morris Island Lighthouse is now completely surrounded by water but once sat on Morris Island with numerous buildings surrounding it. The lighthouse was completed in 1876 and replaced the original lighthouse on on the island. In the 1700s, there were three islands that stretched for four miles between Folly Island and Sullivan’s Island. They were named Middle Bay Island, Morrison Island, and Cummings Point. The first Charleston lighthouse was built on Middle Bay Island in 1767. The lighthouse was designed by Samuel Cardy and built by Adam Miller and Thomas Young. The tower was cylindrical and stood 102 feet tall. The lantern room had a revolving lamp that had a range of about 12 miles. In 1858, a Fresnel lens was installed. In the early 1800s, the channel leading to Charleston began to shift causing a change in the tidal currents. Sand began to build up between the islands and this resulted in the three islands merging into a single island. Since Morrison Island was the central of the three earlier islands, the now single island was called Morrison Island. Later the name was shortened to Morris Island. The first Charleston lighthouse continued to provide service until Civil War. In 1861, the fleeing Confederate soldiers blew up the lighthouse so northern troops could not use it. Following the Civil War in 1873, Congress appropriated money for the rebuilding of the Morris Island Lighthouse–then referred to as the Charleston Main Light. The lighthouse was completed in 1876 approximately 400 yards from the earlier tower. It stood 161 feet tall and was patterned after the Bodie Light of the Outer Banks in North Carolina. The lighthouse even used the same paint scheme as a day mark – black and white horizontal stripes. There were a total of 15 buildings on the island besides the lighthouse tower. Included in these were the keeper’s quarters, various outbuildings, and a one-room schoolhouse. A teacher came over from the mainland on Monday, taught the children during the week, and returned to the mainland on Friday. Toward the end of the 1800s, the channel had again shifted, but this time the change threatened the Charleston Harbor. In order to keep the channel open, several jetties had to be built. These were completed in 1889. Although the channel directed into Charleston was saved, the changing tidal currents resulting from the jetties caused severe erosion on Morris Island. The island began to shrink. By 1938, many of the buildings were destroyed and others moved. The light was automated in 1938 and the Fresnel lens was removed. Since 1938, over 1600 feet of land surrounding the tower has been lost. Today it stands alone, completely surrounded by water. In 1962, the Sullivan’s Island lighthouse was built to replace the Morris Island Light, which was decommissioned. The U.S. Coast Guard had plans to demolish the tower but petitions from local residents saved the structure. The Coast Guard built an underground steel wall around the tower to protect it from further erosion damage. The lighthouse is now privately owned and efforts are underway to preserve the Morris Island Light.
Parked outside the walkway to the lighthouse as we arrived to Charleston on a road trip at 4am and were waiting for the sunrise. BEAUTIFUL location, maybe 3 or 4 people posted taking pictures. Was totally worth it!! And not too buggy
The place is wonderfully breathtaking and peaceful. If you are a fan of strolling every afternoon, this place is like magic and haven. You can enjoy the peaceful and beautiful view of sunrise and sunset here.
Be the first to add a review to the Morris Island Lighthouse.
Morris Island Lighthouse
- Mon: 2:00 am - 3:00 am
- Sun: 6:00 am - 5:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Own this business?
Claim your business to keep your
listing's information up to date.