“explore the headquarters & archives of Washington County's expansive history”
Headquarters, archives and genealogical library of WCHS is housed in the Miller House lower floor. The house above was built in 1825 by Samuel Price, sold by Price in 1844 to a fellow attorney Alexander Neill and was occupied by several generations of the Neills. The Millers acquired the house in 1912 and gifted it to the Society in 1965. Restoration and maintenance of the house, its vast collection and formal garden keeps society members and staff busy. The carriage house exhibit includes 1910 and 1925 autos. The house is open for tours, WCHS events and is available for rent on approval. An additional museum was added to the WCHS holdings in 1971. The Beaver Creek School, built in 1904 and used until 1961, exhibits interpret education in a two-room school and houses photos of many early schoolhouses throughout the county. Other exhibits include turn-of-the century tools, hats, clothing and musical instruments. This building is open for tours by appointment.
Be the first to add a review to the Washington County Historical Society.
Washington County Historical Society
- Tue - Sat: 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.