“Classic and delicious”
The Pultneyville Grill is a classic American Style restaurant. Combining French and Italian influences with the traditions of New England and New York City, we pride ourselves in allowing the multiple flavors from herbs and spices to enhance the natural tastes of our food. Located in the largest apple growing county of New York, we use seasonal fruits and vegetables in everything we do. Situated along the east bank of Salmon Creek on the southern shore of Lake Ontario, The Landing at Pultneyville is a popular upstate New York destination along the well-traveled Seaway Trail. Located between Rochester and Sodus Bay it offers visitors, from near and far, a unique shopping and dining experience in the midst of a historic hamlet in the Town of Williamson. The Landing is among 37 Pultneyville properties, that in 1975, became listed on the National Register of Historic Sites. Today, The Landing at Pultneyville celebrates the creative and culinary abundance of the region as home to Artisans' Loft ... a unique fine art and gift gallery that features the work of local, regional and nationally acclaimed artists, The Pultneyville Grill, an upscale eatery that continues the fine tradition of distinctive dining in casual waterside elegance and Moongate Gallery and Antiques - specializing in high quality authentic Asian antiques, furniture, art, porcelain and collectibles. PRESERVING THE PAST The original structure was built in the mid-1850s for local carpenters Samuel W. Roys and Captain Mervin Pallister. With meticulous attention to detail, and respect for preserving the character and integrity of this historic landmark, an extensive renovation commenced in the fall of 2004. Under the ownership of David and Nancy Lederer, the property, now known as The Landing at Pultneyville, opened for business a year later. The primitive wooden pegs of this post-and-beam structure are still visible in the original part of the building. In 2005, it became home to Artisans' Loft, a unique second-story gallery space where history and art come alive together. The Pultneyville Grill, a full-service restaurant offering distinctive dining in a casual, waterside setting overlooking Lake Ontario, is also located on the upper level of this noted landmark. Located in the immediate area of the War of 1812, the structure was noted as the Pallister Brothers Warehouse on the 1874 map of Pultneyville. It was owned by Albert and Captain Mervin Pallister, sons of John Pallister, an early settler in Pultneyville who in 1827 immigrated with his family to the Port of Pultneyville from Canada and became a prominent citizen in the community. According to the Commercial Press, a monthly newspaper from Pultneyville, by 1869 Samuel W. Roys, one of the original owners, had purchased a farm in Nebraska and had moved. Roys was from a noted family of famous whalers who traveled the world. A PULTNEYVILLE ANCHOR For much of its existence, the warehouse has been fondly referred to as the "old red barn" and continues to hold a treasured place in the history of Pultneyville, a quaint and charming village replete with New England-style architecture. Fruits, vegetables, cedar and locust posts, grain, coal, salt, corn meal, flour, feed, and plaster were shipped or received through the Port of Pultneyville which was also an important stop along the Underground Railroad, from which slaves making their way to new-found freedom in Canada departed. The warehouse was used to store common everyday goods used by community residents and grain was pulled to the top floor, and then transferred by way of a chute, into schooners that sailed from the creek into the waters of Lake Ontario. The property around the building was once a lumber yard supplying the needs of the area's significant steamer and schooner shipping fleet of this bustling lake port. Pultneyville's significant maritime heritage - from ship-building to lake commerce - is impressive. Industries related to lake commerce grew simultaneously and became successful appendages of Pultneyville's shipping commerce. Coastal and Canadian trade became very important to this then-remote region of the country, having a profound impact on shaping the character of this hamlet. Many of the early vessels, including the Fred L. Wells Schooner, were built in, and sailed to and from this once thriving port. The schooner was owned by Captain Mervin Pallister and his brother Albert and could often be seen docked in Salmon Creek along side of the warehouse. It was the last schooner to sail from the Port of Pultneyville as the shipping and mercantile activities in this upstate New York hamlet dwindled in the late 1800s with the advent of the railroad located just 3 miles south. Captain Pallister commanded the Fred L. Wells and was the last of Pultneyville's lake captains. He was described as "a well-known, lovable character known far and wide for his kindly humor." He married Addie Robison in 1868 and lived in what is known in 2008, as the Connors home on Mill Street. He died in 1926.
Be the first to add a review to the Pultneyville Grill.
- Wed: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
- Thu - Sat: 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
- Sun: 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted
Own this business?
Claim your business to keep your
listing's information up to date.